Jesus and Socrates

During and after the period of Jesus Christ’s crucifixion I imagine it was pretty dangerous to be a Christian. There were a lot of political and religious leaders that wanted to maintain power. The ideas of Christianity didn’t fit the established power’s agenda.

I’ve always considered Jesus Christ as a revolutionary. Anyone who dies for the cause of humanity is of note in my book. The risks early Christians were willing to take to practice their faith is pretty amazing.

Christian apologists often point to Jesus and the Apostle’s willingness to die for their faith as evidence of Jesus’s divinity and the legitimacy of Christianity. I don’t buy into that idea.

For me, Jesus and his follower’s sacrifices doesn’t prove the legitimacy of Christianity, but proves that disrupting established power structure can be deadly. This has been true at every point in history.

Take the the Greek Philosophers Socrates, Plato, and Aristotle.  Aristotle was was forced to flee his home and Socrates was tried and eventually put to death.

I’m not sure how Christian apologists ignore that parallel.

I feel like trying to make Jesus’s life supernatural in nature is a disservice. What we know about Jesus Christ is interesting and impressive enough. Why do we need the supernatural?

7 thoughts on “Jesus and Socrates

    1. Atticus C.

      I don’t think that the supernatural events in the bible are historically accurate. So, in my world-view, they were added to the historical accounts legitimize Jesus Christ. But Christian apologists often point to Jesus’s willingness to die as evidence of his legitimacy as Christ. I don’t think that’s a good argument because many others throughout history have been willing to do the same. It is surprising to me that Christian apologists who make this argument ignore the seemingly obvious parallels in to story of Socrates’ life. That was my point.

      Reply
      1. Secondhand Surfer

        I know I just wanted to throw that in there. I am not an apologist. I just think it’s a weird world we live in. I believe “the story” in the way that I have come to believe it. It’s all kind of like Ground Hog Day. Down the Rabbit Hole. Quantum Physics and String Theory. Looking at it in that light, it starts to make perfect sense, to me. – I did get your point.

        Reply
  1. Jon

    It reminds me of what Spinoza said about nature and the idea of God intervening to produce supernatural events.

    “God’s nature and existence, and consequently His providence cannot be known from miracles, but that they can all be much better perceived from the fixed and immutable order of nature.”

    “If anyone asserted that God acts in contravention to the laws of nature, he, ipso facto, would be compelled to assert that God acted against His own nature.”

    Reply
  2. Jon

    and, as you say, a willingness to die for something you believe is greater than yourself is something that’s seen in other heroic figures that you mentioned, and also in some not-so-heroic figures nowadays. 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

