Chronically (un)Happy

Someone tweeted an article written by a psychiatrist about how bad people are feeling these days: http://slatestarcodex.com/2015/12/24/how-bad-are-things/

The article is worth a read a provides some interesting analysis into the amount of people who walk around unhappy all the time. Probably somewhere well above 50% of the population, by the author’s count.

His analysis is pretty compelling too.

For me, all things being equal, I think the tendency to over-complicate life and accumulate stuff is generally the reason many people are unhappy. At least that’s the case for me.

For example, my wife and I have at least fifteen coffee cups and over twenty wine glasses. I see all that accumulated glassware in my cabinets collecting dust and I wonder what the hell it’s doing there.

We received the wine glasses as a wedding gift. One year at a new-years-eve party one of the wine glasses was broken. My wife cried. I can’t remember using any at a party since. Why do we have them?

That’s just one tiny example, but when you multiply that little-bit of anxiety across the thousands mundane and seemingly insignificant elements of life – suddenly half the people on the planet are depressed. We become slaves to our own shit.

Throw in a little braggadocio via Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter and…

One thought on “Chronically (un)Happy

  1. Jon

    It’s funny that you used the example of cups and glasses accumulating. The same thing happens in our kitchen, and we have a pretty damned small NYC apartment. My wife doesn’t like to get rid of anything and mourns when any break. And I celebrate when any of these never-used items break! More space! Less is more!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

