Story: I was contacted, threatened, and ordered to take down “leaked” information!

Three weeks ago I was contacted by an anonymous source in the National Security Agency (NSA).  The source contacted me through an email I have made available to the public through this blog. In the email the anonymous source claimed to be a long-time reader of my blog and that (s)he appreciated my honesty and my “small government stance”.

The anonymous source explained that (s)he had information that (s)he wanted to spread virally throughout the internet, specifically through blogs and smaller, independent, media outlets. At first I was very skeptical and assumed that this “anonymous emailer” was probably the other author of this blog (Holden) playing a prank.

The “Top Secret” Information – Proof

Soon I received a .zip folder over a private VPN file transfer set up by the anonymous emailer. The file was several GB in size and contained over one-thousand power-points, .jpg files, word documents, and .pdf’s. In the email the anonymous source highlighted about a dozen documents (s)he called “must reads”.

Over the next two weeks I read what must have been 250 documents. Most of them were very boring and seemed to be meaningless. However, several of them are worth spreading and sending to as many news outlets as possible.

Of course I assume that these “interesting” documents could be fake. So I sent one document to a contact I have in law school whose father happens to work for the Government (I assume FBI or CIA). Within the hour his father called me personally.

He was very concerned and asked me where I received the document. I told him that I found it on a random website on the internet. My friend’s father stressed to me the importance of keeping the document to myself. This pretty much confirmed to me the validity of my anonymous emailer.

Two Nights Ago – Posting the Information

Two nights ago I decided I would post a summary of the information I was provided. I also posted a link to the “critical documents” available for download via a link to a third party website (set up by the anonymous emailer). I felt this was not “leaking” the documents myself, thus was safe and legal.

Less than an hour after posting that article and link the post disappeared. It was as if I had never written it. A few minutes after that I was contacted by an “attorney” representing the United States Government. This was frightening as I blog under a pseudo-name and have never provided by personal mobile phone number on this blog. I was not informed how the “attorney” obtained my contact information nor how they linked me to this blog.

I was ordered, upon threat of charges being brought against me, to provide the details of the anonymous emailer, my email account, and all documents.

Media Shield Law

My first instinct was to give in, but I decided that by providing any information I would be incriminating myself. I contacted an attorney. I have been stressed for the past few days because no one knows about this- not Holden, not my wife.

The Attorney informed me that I was not protected under a new law called the “Media Shield Law”. Specifically I am not protected because I do not meet the criteria as a journalist.

Specifically, the amendment requires that a journalist meet one of the following definitions:

  1. working as a “salaried employee, independent contractor, or agent of an entity that disseminates news or information;”
  2. either (a) meeting the prior definition “for any continuous three-month period within the two years prior to the relevant date” or (b) having “substantially contributed, as an author, editor, photographer, or producer, to a significant number of articles, stories, programs, or publications by an entity . . . within two years prior to the relevant date;” or
  3. working as a student journalist “participating in a journalistic publication at an institution of higher education.”

*Amendment to S. 987, 113th Cong. § 5(A)(i), § 5(B)(iii) (2013).

Per the advice of my attorney I provided all documents to the US Government.

Why I’m Writing This

I decided to write this as a last ditch effort to let everyone who may read this know what’s going on. To you all know how fucked up everything is. To let you know that these laws do matter, that the Government has too much power. I wish I could tell you what I saw on those documents. I wish I could tell the world, but I can’t. I just hope this article isn’t taken down too.


Fake Article, but Real Consequences

Nothing I wrote above was true. As in – it didn’t really happen. BUT I hope it proves a point. The laws are real. The situation could be real. And the Amendment above is real. I hope this brought it home for you and made you realize how dangerous an unconstitutional law like this really is.

The first amendment:
Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.

2 thoughts on “Story: I was contacted, threatened, and ordered to take down “leaked” information!

  1. R Harrison Scott

    Your concerns are certainly legitimate but what concerns me is that it would be so easy for hired hands or political zealots to data mine the information the NSA is assembling. Given the IRS’s recent abuse of power, I’m hard pressed to think the NSA’s data couldn’t be used in a variety of nefarious ways. What really concerns me is that no one is publically connecting the dots.

    Reply
    1. Holden

      I think the real issue is the fact that the government can now effortlessly blackmail anyone they like.

      I think its less about finding terrorists and more about being able to control whomever they like. After all, the government talking heads keep saying so themselves over and over: “We aren’t interested in listening to your phone calls!”

      Well, then why store them? And why aren’t you listening if the point is to find terrorists? Its to create a TIME MACHINE where they can peer back into whoever, whenever, to co-opt and control.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

