People, NOT Government

President Obama will be our president for the next four years, the House of Representatives is still controlled by a Republican majority, and the Senate is still controlled by a Democrat majority. Nothing has changed since yesterday. This morning I still got out of bed, shut off my alarm, put on my clothes, and went to work.

For now, I’ll rake the leaves at the beginning of my neighborhood when no one else will, I’ll buy a homeless guy a meal and treat him like a person, I’ll offer to fix my neighbor’s front porch when they need help, and I’ll lend my friends a few bucks when times are tight after they’ve been laid off work. In the end, its the people that make a difference, not their Government.

Did you get that?

As a 25 year old man, with several decades left to live, I believe no idea is more important to perpetuate than our sense of responsibility to ourselves and our neighbors. We have to fight for it!

As it stands it seems we as a population have slowly come to rely more and more on Government. Not just the poor, not just as a social safety net, and not just for emergency – but to such an extent we are losing our sense of community.

Ask yourself: “What is my relationship with my community?” and “What do I think when I see someone in need?” Do you think “How can I help?” or do you assume the Government already is?

We text “Red Cross” during a hurricane instead of preparing a meal for our neighbor. We wait for FEMA instead offering water to the thirsty. We assume “they get food-stamps” instead of offering someone a way to feed themselves. Republican or Democrat this is a trending theme everyone must be worried about.

Help yourself, help your neighbor, don’t wait for anyone else to do it.

5 thoughts on “People, NOT Government

    1. Jon

      I just worry that there may not be enough Atticus’ around if I fall into trouble. And if we do away w government support, will more Atticus’ arise? Maybe. I don’t know. May be some value to government safety night so we can sleep more easily at night. I don’t know. But you put it really well.

      Reply
      1. Atticus

        I’m not anti-government (even though I complain about it a lot). Truth be told I am completely confident that we NEED government. I just want a little less of it – especially when it comes to privacy and nation building.

        I think this is a co-op. It takes both Government and people to do it. I kind of see a pattern of people doing less and the Government doing more and more.

        I think as a nation we need to come together.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

