Camping and Training for Machu Picchu

As I mentioned a few days ago – Holden, myself, and our wives will be headed to Machu Pucchu in about 9 months. In efforts to prevent my wife from dieing on the hike I’ve started a training regiment of periodic hiking and camping at a nearby state park.

Thoughts in the Wilderness

Even though I was only a few miles from the nearest road being a little bit off the beaten trail felt peaceful. Even the hiking, collecting fire wood, and setting up camp somehow felt relaxing. It had been such a long time since I spent the night outdoors I had almost forgotten what I was missing. Something about cooking your food over a fire you prepared yourself, next to a campsite, and the stars coming out – just feels calming.

At night I couldn’t take my eyes off the stars and I quickly realized why so many people were drawn to them 100s of years ago. It’s funny because before last night I can’t even remember the last time I took more than a couple of seconds to look up and appreciate the night sky.

The fresh air, something relaxing about being outdoors, and just the rare opportunity for a little isolation has quickly made camping something I plan to do a little more often. If anything, I’m more enthusiastic than ever about hitting up Machu Picchu.

Lesson Learned

Slow down, take a deep breath, enjoy nature, enjoy the ones you are with, and relax.

3 thoughts on “Camping and Training for Machu Picchu

  1. Pingback: Inka Trail Peru auf Inkapfaden zum Machu Picchu | Chirimoya Tours Peru Reiseveranstalter

Leave a Reply

