Chick-fil-a and Measuring the Pulse of Society on Gay Marriage

It looks like Mike Huckabee declared today “Chick-fil-a appreciation day” to honor their opposition to Same Sex Marriage and to honor their traditional Christian values.   I didn’t think much about it until I logged onto Facebook today.  I hate Facebook.

My news feed was covered with posts about Chick-fil-a.  People were quickly choosing sides and declaring their love or hatred for Chick-fil-a.  Sitting in an office in California – 2468 miles away from my home in Atlanta, GA – it became obvious to me that the South is  in transition.

Click to enlarge

My Thoughts On Chick-fil-a and Gay Marriage

First of all I think its great that we live in a country that is free enough where people can have peaceful disagreements without killing each other or going to jail (for now).  I think Chick-fil-a is perfectly within their rights to speak out against Gay Marriage – they are idiots for their beliefs – but perfectly within their rights.

If customers are unhappy with their Truitt Cathy’s beliefs and the companies Christian values then they can let their feet and money do the talking and stop going to the restaurants, urge people can stop buying Chic-fil-a franchises, and soon enough the economy will tell Chick-fil-a and their owners all they need to know.  I do think it is worth mentioning that many franchise owners of Chick-fil-a DO NOT agree with Mr. Cathy.  So that might be worth considering too.

As far as gay rights – well I support them.  No one should be able to tell two consenting adults what type of personal relationship they can have.  I have written extensively about that before.  You can read about that here and here for starters.

Morally, I do not think same-sex marriage is wrong.  If two people love and respect each other, have integrity, are socially and personally responsible, have good values, and practice them – they have my support.  Their race, faith, creed, gender, sexual preference, relationship status, etc. means little to me.

5 thoughts on “Chick-fil-a and Measuring the Pulse of Society on Gay Marriage

    1. Atticus Finch

      The founder is a religious guy and Chick-fil-a is know for upholding “Christian Values”. For example, they are closed on Sundays. So the founder admitted that did not support Gay marriage (big surprise?). The restaurant itself doesn’t take a stance and each location is individually owned and operated. I’m not exactly sure why everyone is making his a huge deal over anything else.

      Reply
  1. Rattlesnake

    I read that post of yours that you linked to (the first one), and I have to agree completely. I have to say first that you have moved my opinion on gay marriage more than any other person. I have been reading a blog called Gay Patriot for probably about a year and a half (in fact, that was how I was first introduced to the blogosphere, as I felt lonely as a gay right-wing nutjob and I came across that blog from a Google search), and I’ve been talking to several gay people of various political views who have varying views on gay marriage. Considering that, I find it ironic that my views on gay marriage were changed the most by a straight guy (not that I should; I just do considering everything).

    Anyway, while I agree with what you’ve explicitly said, I strictly believe that government should not be involved in marriage. The concept of “gay rights” is something I disagree with as it is something that requires a distinction be made between people due to something that is superficial in the context of what the government’s functions. While I realize this is unrealistic, the only thing I support is the government treating people as individuals, and that treatment being equitable. I don’t think that is incompatible with anything you said.

    Reply
    1. Atticus Finch

      Hi Rattlesnake,

      That is one of the best compliments I have received in a while. I think your view of how the Government should treat people and my view are very similar. We shouldn’t make a distinction based on people sexual preference (or at least the Gov shouldn’t).

      Anyways, I’m happy to hear the blogosphere and the people in it has helped you – I know it has also helped me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

