Rich Guy Says “Tax the Rich”

I’m only for a higher tax for the rich if:

1. The Government also lowers taxes for the middle class and the poor equally to the revenue received.
2. The Government makes it policy that all additional tax dollars collected from the rich will directly benefit the people. No money will be given to war, military spending, intelligence agencies, nor political districts.
3. An outline of directly where ALL tax dollars will be spent and made available to the public before approval.

My fear is that additional taxes will be just that. More revenue given to our Government.

8 thoughts on “Rich Guy Says “Tax the Rich”

  1. jon

    It may be that #1 is the case – I don’t know — but

    “Senate Democrats will try to bring to the floor, possibly this week, a bill sponsored by Sen. Bob Casey (D-Pa.) that would reduce the payroll tax rate for employees to 3.1 percent for 2012, as well as reduce it for employers. The $255 billion cost of the measure would be offset by a tax on those making more than
    $1 million a year.”

    Rollcall.com May 20, 2012
    http://www.rollcall.com/issues/57_65/Income-Gap-Takes-the-Spotlight-210593-1.html?zkMobileView=true

    If it’s really accurate to describe the tax increases on the wealthy as ‘offsetting’ the reduction in payroll taxes , then it could be that the reduction in taxes (for those of us on a payroll) is actually a greater dollar reduction in taxes than the increase that would be generated by increasing the top tax rates.

    Reply
    1. Atticus Finch

      Wow – if that is true and it actually means a greater reduction in tax revenues overall and tax reductions for the middle and lower classes then I cannot deny it sounds like a good thing (at least better than what we have now). I am happy this conversation is coming up and it’s not just an overall “lets raise taxes” situation.

      I’ll have to look at this in more detail. Thanks for the link!

      Reply
  2. Rattlesnake

    Wow, I think I am going to have to write my own post to respond to this video. I’ll just say that my BS meter is way off the charts, to be colourful.

    Reply
      1. Rattlesnake

        Ok, my rebuttal is up. Now that I’ve gotten that off my chest, I have to say that I would have said, regarding #2, that “no more money than is necessary will be given to government employees or be used as political favours or subsidies, et cetera” (I’m sure I could add many more things to that list). And #3 would be brilliant if it weren’t so common-sensical; it should be the policy already, and that it isn’t doesn’t speak very well of the government’s status quo.

        Reply
  3. Pingback: Canadian Rattlesnake

Leave a Reply

