The Thoughts of the Simple Minded

I hate to keep bombarding the loyal readers of this blog with garbage from Facebook, but wow does it give me a lot of good material to complain about – which is also the sole factor preventing me from deleting my account and all of these good ole’ boys right along with it.

In any case, below is a lovely conversation between a village idiot I went to high school with and happily a few people that seem like they might actually have a brain in their head.

Yes, this is life in the South at times.  There are some good guys, some bad guys, and a lot of idiots.  Enjoy shaking your head and wondering to yourself if the world is doomed after all.  Just in case you were wondering – no I didn’t comment.

21 thoughts on “The Thoughts of the Simple Minded

  1. amelie

    We had just finished breakfast in a town of the Pioneer Valley (think Portlandia-style liberal – big time) and we saw 2 guys with cardboard signs (you’d think the pull yourself up by the bootstraps crowd would have nicer signs) protesting big goverment and “where’s the birth certificate” nonsense. Unlike down South, it’s pretty unusual to see this kind of idiocy where we are. We were laughing our butts off, but I imagine it’s not so amusing down South where it’s the majority. 😦

    Reply
    1. Atticus Finch Post author

      I wouldn’t call it the majority (I hope), but there certainly are enough people who think that way that it is frustrating at times.

      I understand if people do not agree with the President and his policies, but if you are going to complain please do it with some sort of logic or scholar to back up your case. Neither of which I see from people like that.

      Reply
    2. Rattlesnake

      So, opposition to big government is idiotic, just because you say so? Something I’ve noticed about liberals is that they often denounce conservative viewpoints as idiotic without providing any rationale as to why that is the case.

      And the message of the sign is more important than how it looks.

      If you’re talking about Obama’s birth certificate, I think it is reasonable to be suspicious, but it isn’t an important issue, in my opinion.

      Reply
      1. Atticus Finch Post author

        Opposition to big government is absolutely NOT idiotic. We have to realize both Republicans and Democrats are big government at this point. (See Bush’s outrageous spending, the patriot act, and military interventionism. See Obama’s tax programs, spending, and liberty crushing legislation.)

        A demand for the Government to stay out of the business of enforcing laws which put restraints on two consenting adults ability to enter into a mutually agreed upon contract (marriage) is a prime example of conservative big Government policy.

        Advocates for liberty have little tolerance for bad policy – whether it’s a push from Reps or Dems makes no difference to me.

        Reply
        1. Rattlesnake

          It is undeniable that Republicans are big government as well as Democrats. But the Republicans are the lesser of two evils, in my opinion. That doesn’t mean their metaphorical feet can’t be held to the metaphorical fire.

          Reply
      2. amelie

        Rattlesnake,

        Watch your reading comprehension. I never said opposition to big goverment is idiotic. What’s idiotic is 2 dudes holding up badly made, barely legible torn cardboard signs, lazily spouting off what they heard on Fox News. I mean, really. If you’re trying to change attitudes, take some pride in what you’re doing. At least buy some damned box cutters and make the edges of the cardboard flap even.

        If the message on the sign is barely legible, it’s not going to matter what it is. An important message deserves more time and care than my 3rd grade niece could have done in her sleep.

        The birth certificate issue is beyond idiotic. It’s pure brainwashed mindlessness.

        It’s also some pretty lazy thinking to whitewash anyone you disagree with as “liberal”. I am a combination of politically progressive and very socially conservative. I’d like to see General Wesley Clark in office.

        Big government is also a ridiculously general statement. Do you think banning birth control falls under the category of small govermnent?

        Reply
        1. Rattlesnake

          I apologize for my incivil tone. You are right, I didn’t read your comment correctly. However, you didn’t say the signs were illegible. If they were, then I agree with what you said.

          As for the birth certificate issue, most evidence suggests Obama was born in Hawaii. I still think it is worthwhile to investigate inconsistencies in his background as long as it doesn’t distract from more important issues, but it isn’t relevant as far as his political campaign is concerned.

          I never called you a liberal. I implied it, but I was under the impression that you were calling opposition to big government idiotic, so it was a logical assumption to make at the time.

          Do you think banning birth control falls under the category of small govermnent?Absolutely not.

          Reply
          1. amelie

            Cheers, I appreciate the civility. These debates can get heated. 😉

            Level headed investigations are fine. I think government transparency is vital, and hopefully the White House has enough resources on their website so any citizen can find relevant information.

            Reply
  2. jon

    That’s some Facebook dialogue. I was interested all the way through. Even though Justin insists that he’s unmovable in his views, the very fact that there is a dialogue going on with views he might not be exposed to often seems like it can’t hurt.

    Reply
    1. Atticus Finch

      That’s a good observation. I’m sure when he first posted an anti-gay message he probably thought everyone would agree. The fact that man people didn’t might have opened him up to examine his beliefs. The fact that the conversation is happening at all is a good thing.

      Reply
  3. jon

    But I do have to say – since Justin isn’t too interested in the complexities of Seth’s arguments, it might be worthwhile responding to Justin in a more straightforward way. Something like,

    Justin, you’re a f*ing dick.

    Reply
    1. Atticus Finch Post author

      LOL!

      Living with these type of people I guess I’ve built up a slight tolerance. At least enough to feel more dumbfounded than anything. I just shake my head and move on. My indifference to their very existence is the ultimate punishment haha

      Reply
  4. Rattlesnake

    I happen to think that there are many more idiots (per capita) in California and the Northeastern United States than there are in the South, but that’s just me.

    It does get frustrating when Christians view non-Christians or even Christians who don’t share their views exactly as inferior to themselves. That betrays the conservative principle of judging people based on their actions and not on identity labels. And I personally don’t see how someone could view the Bible as a supreme authority, but who am I to judge people’s religious beliefs?

    However, I think Justin does have a point. People who voted for Obama just because he is black are racist idiots. And people who voted for him for whatever reason without considering the relevant issues are just as idiotic.

    Reply
    1. Atticus Finch Post author

      I agree and disagree. Anyone who votes for someone for reasons other than how they run the country are, for lack of a better term, idiots.

      However, here in the South people fall victim of voting purely on party lines without regard to anything else. No research. That, in my opinion, is just as toxic. Romney is the establishment Republican candidate so the drones will vote for him. Ignore his healthcare policy, his ties to corporations, deny his shady business tactics, deny his character.

      My major critique of Christian’s is their aptitude to “cherry pick” their beliefs and interpretations. For example, it clearly says in the bible not to have premarital sex, not to have tattoos, not to perform sodomy, etc.; however, Christian’s depending on their “sin” of choice ignore one thing or another action, but chastize people for others…

      I don’t know which region is more “idiotic”, but I know the whole country (including myself!) has a long way to go to re-educate themselves.

      Reply
      1. Rattlesnake

        However, here in the South people fall victim of voting purely on party lines without regard to anything else.

        I’m sure that is the case in most places.

        Romney is the establishment Republican candidate so the drones will vote for him. Ignore his healthcare policy, his ties to corporations, deny his shady business tactics, deny his character.

        Romney isn’t perfect, or even that good for that matter, but he is better than Obama, in my opinion.

        Reply
        1. Atticus Finch Post author

          I think America should consider a third party candidate or force the Republican part to nominate a better person. Those were/are both options, but it hasn’t happened…

          Reply
          1. Rattlesnake

            I don’t think that is realistic at this point. I agree it would be nice if it happened, but, in my opinion, the main goal now should be getting rid of Obama and getting limited government conservatives elected to Congress. It seems to me that that is the best possible scenario. A significant number of people voting for a third party (Libertarian, for example) I think would take votes away from Romney and would result in Obama being re-elected (although I don’t know, maybe he would take more votes away from Obama than he would Romney, or maybe Romney’s margin would be large enough to absorb the votes given to Johnson).

            Reply
    2. amelie

      Why do you think people in the Northeast are idiots? We have far better rules for keeping intelligent design out of the classroom, and we have far better education in general. This is a report from Slate:

      “On the most basic measures of educational achievement—fourth- and eighth-grade math and reading skills—Massachusetts tops the nation. Education Week’s Quality Counts 2012 report expands on this success. On their overall index, Massachusetts ranks second, to Maryland. According to a 2011 Harvard study, while reading proficiency in Mississippi is comparable to Russia or Bulgaria, Massachusetts performs more like Singapore, Japan, or South Korea. Often better: Massachusetts students rank fifth in the world in reading, lapping Singapore and Japan, and needless to say, every state in the union. In math, Massachusetts slots in a global ninth, ahead of Japan and Germany. (Some international educational studies rank Shanghai and Hong Kong as separate countries; if this wasn’t done, Massachusetts would likely rank two places higher.)”

      Reply
        1. amelie

          We have travelled to South Carolina many times, and I can tell you the place is lovely. Great people and as with here, many transplants so it can certainly be a mix of northerners and southerners. I don’t mean to stereotype either. 🙂

          Reply
  5. Farty pants

    Ah… if only all the morons who endlessly bring up the whole- “One Nation Under God” thing knew that more than a few of our founding fathers were either openly or quietly Diests.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

