Practice What You Preach You Liberty Loving Americans!

I’ve always tried to be moderate and logical.  I really dislike it when people have an idea and refuse to consider any other side of the argument – even good ideas – because it is in conflict with their presuppositions.  I TRY not to do that, but it’s hard.  It’s especially hard when you are trying to take a stand for something and spread those ideas.  So here I am – trying to take a stand and trying not to become so in-gulped in my own ideas that I ignore everyone else’s.

Just last night I was talking to my wife about the Tornados that came through last week and whether the National Government should step in and help or not.  On the one hand I thought that it is up to the individual to have insurance, up to private charities to help out, and up to the community to reach out and help.  On the other hand I can see how people would so quickly rely on the Government to step in and help as that is what many of us are used to.  Both ideas are aimed at helping people, I think.

I found myself on my “limited Government” soapbox for a minute proclaiming that “the Community” should come together and help out and stop relying on the Government!  Chest thump and all!  Then my wife said it – “What have you done for the Community lately.”  (Touche’ Wife…)

She was right – amongst all of my “Community” arguments I haven’t done a damned thing for my own community lately.  Sure I’ve cleaned up the neighborhood, helped out a friend, and kept my yard clean – but that doesn’t quite cut it for the community idea I had in mind – especially if you are going to argue that’s the way it should be.  I could be painting an elderly couples fence, cleaning up trash on the side of the road, volunteering in local Government, etc., but I’ve been a big fat hypocrite relying on others to do the dirty work in the community at large.

This is sort of what the whole country has done I think (and why Government has become such a big part of our lives).  For myself, I can respond to critique – especially coming from my wife.  It’s time for me to step it up and not just help out in the neighborhood or in my own yard, but in the community.  How can I expect everyone else to step up and do their part if I’m not doing it myself?

I have already contacted a few groups and organizations to get involved.  I don’t want to be that fiscal-conservative-progressive-liberal-libertarian-moderate-naturalist (or whatever) that doesn’t practice what he preaches – so here I go.

5 thoughts on “Practice What You Preach You Liberty Loving Americans!

  1. Tarig Anter

    Atticus Finch; you know sometime I gave up hope that right actions and stands may come from America with such disturbing silence and acceptance towards their governments aggressions.
    Thanks to opinions like yours inject desperately needed actions from America. The problem as you said is very simple. Nations and governments don’t like bullying and bullies. It is not a clash of civilizations, cultures or anything else.
    I am glad you liked “America Bully the World by Regimes Change” on my 3D Democracy blog.

    Reply
  2. jon

    I’m curious to see how this turns out. I have done hardly any volunteer work. But about 10 years ago, I did volunteer at an organization that was part of a church (St John’s Cathedral) near where I live (and I’m not even Christian 🙂 ). It was a place where homeless people came for information about getting help with food and clothing – but also to apply for a job, to organize yourself, etc. I gave a little talk one night to some homeless guys (they were all guys) about goal-setting, and keeping a weekly calendar where you write down the steps you need to take to reach your goal. It was really energizing for me.

    Reply
    1. Atticus Finch

      I’m curious too Jon. I’m not sure where I’ll land in the community, but I’m pretty confident that it’ll be good for me and hopefully good for some other folks too. I’ll keep you posted.

      Reply
  3. amelie

    Sorry I’m late to the party on this one. Also sorry have not responded to the stats question, stuff at home has been crazy.

    I loved this post Atticus and I wish more people would think this way. My mom lives alone in an apartment below a conservative talk radio station. She has joint problems but in the winter, the DJs come out and shovel, scrape the ice off her car and put sand down so she does not slip. At some point she wanted to move but I said “NO, mom. Stay there”. I like the idea of watchdogs helping my mom 24/7. They too practice what they preach.

    Reply
    1. Atticus Finch

      No worries Amelie – even if you never get to it. Regarding that Gun control stats thing I learned a lot doing the research myself. I kind of came to the conclusion that “reasonable” gun control laws are necessary in addition to changes in the culture, education, and behavior of society…

      Anyways – its good to hear someone is watching after your Mom. There are a few folks out there doing some good for nothing in return, that’s awesome to know.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

