A Year of Blogging

I’ve been blogging for a year now on this blog.  I feel like I’ve learned a lot so far.  I’ve come to terms with a lot of my own beliefs, my ideas have evolved, and I’m more comfortable with myself.  It’s interesting to me how blogging has forced me to articulate my own ideas into readable posts – which in turn has given me a lot of clarity.  

I’ve also made a few friends along the way.  Random friends.  Some who most certainly disagree with a lot of what I write and others who agree with almost everything.  College professors, college students, stay at home Moms, old men, young men, liberals, and conservatives.  It’s an interesting crowd – and that’s just the way I like it.  Thank you all. 

What’s Next

I’m happy with the progress here so far.  I’ve gained a few regular readers – or at least people who pass by more than once.  I’m ambitious though – I love the discussion.  Most of my “good” post have been in response to discussions and comments left on this blog.  Rarely have I just come up with a home run on my own – if ever.

Over this next year I hope to gain a few more regulars and have a lot more discussion.  I want to hear from you, all of you.  Tell me I’m boring the hell out of you, tell me you agree, tell me you disagree, make suggestions PLEASE!  The feedback, even just a little, keeps me going.  Comments are like fuel for a blog.

Blog Community

I have also toyed around with idea of forming some sort of “blog community” for the few of us who consistently comment on each other’s blog (you know who you are) and those who might be interested.  Maybe a nice little badge on our website that is linked to page with a short list of blogs that we comment on and visit everyday.  Just blog friends, I guess.  I could never see that group getting over 100-ish.  I’m not sure how you could meaningfully follow and keep up with more blogs than that.  I’m just tossing around the idea and was interested if anyone had any input to the idea.

And We’re Off

For the next year expect more of the same, but better.  I want to continue writing post in the same style I do now, but perhaps with more research and using a variety of media (graphs, video, photos, etc.).   I think I’m also going to start posting more short “easy read” posts.  I know reading 1000 words every time I write something can be VERY boring. 

So thank you all for the support so far – there isn’t too many of us yet, but it’s definitly enough to keep me going.  For liberty!

P.S. The guy looking down in the new banner image, up there,  is me. 🙂

4 thoughts on “A Year of Blogging

  1. galudwig

    A year already? Wish I’d found your blog earlier. 🙂
    Turning abstract ideas into coherent arguments and coherent arguments into readable blogposts is no easy feat and your success is an inspiration!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

