the funny thing about TRUTH

When I first created this blog “BlogTruth” I intended to write all about the truths of the world. I guess to really “set the record straight” for anyone reading and also for myself. Truth is a funny thing though, it’s slippery and really hard to get you hands on. Deceptively hard in fact. I wanted to talk about politics, religion, problems, and present solutions – and to a large degree I have really tried (to varying degrees of success) on a lot of different topics. The more I write and question my own beliefs, others beliefs, and forced to articulate my own ideas the more complex I realize EVERYTHING really is.

People are shaped by their individual experiences to such an extent that every idea and our own sense of morality can be skewed. I mean – what’s really right? For example, politically, people support the candidate that they think will be best for the country – but someone is wrong. Are conservatives wrong because they believe in one thing or are progressives right because they believe in another. Social programs, capitalism, taxes, religion, etc. What each person believes about these subjects is based on one’s own belief on the subject. Their own personal truth. But we all know everyone can’t be right – someone’s truth isn’t true.

I think real truth is found by the person who has the ability to look beyond their own experiences, which skew their opinions, and come to an unbiased conclusion based on fact. Is that really possible? No. Sure some people will be better at doing this than others – I myself try to interpret the world based on fact not emotion, but I know that my own personal experiences shape my beliefs. So what do we do? How do we determine what is true?

I’m still trying to figure that part out.

7 thoughts on “the funny thing about TRUTH

  1. Constance V. Walden

    Jesus said that He was” the Truth.” That’s pretty bold. He also said He was the Way, and the Life. He did not say “a truth”, but “the Truth.” He did not say “a way”,but, “the way”.

    He excludes every other so called “truth” and says He is the truth in John 14:6. You want the truth? He’s Jesus Christ. . Connie
    http://7thandvine.wordpress.com/

    Reply
    1. Atticus Finch Post author

      Jesus was a great philospher, I believe. The bible on the other hand is full of contradictions. To be a Christian I don’t think you can see all the great things about Jesus, but ignore all of the contraditions found in Christianity. You can’t cherry pick your beliefs to make it work – I think it’s kind of an all or nothing package. So truth found in religion is highly debatable – although there are many good lesson to be learned.

      Reply
  2. jon

    Really nice post!

    One thing that comes to mind is that in terms of “politically, people support the candidate that they think will be best for the country – but someone is wrong” — I think that we have different ideas of what will be best for the country (and for us personally), and the candidate that represents my vision or personal interests may be different than the one that represents those of my neighbor. For instance, I wouldn’t want a candidate who supports ‘defense of marriage act’ if I’m gay or if I’m a libertarian who thinks the government should stay out of our personal lives. But if I want the country’s laws to reflect my fundamentalist religious beliefs, I might want the candidate who supports the act. So, then I wonder, is the question of whether the government should ‘protect marriage as an institution between a man and a woman’ one of true vs false?

    Here’s a silly example, but if we like different flavors of ice cream there’s no objective way for us to decide which of us is right about the best flavor (the choice could even be due to our individual differences in sensitivity to sweetness – so we actually taste the ice cream differently).

    (What am I doing think about truth at 2 am in the morning??)

    Reply
    1. Atticus Finch

      Well I think what I was getting at was is there an “ultimate truth” or “ultimate right” vs. what we think is right or wrong based on our personal perspective. For example, perhaps it is better for society as a whole to protect gay rights – even though a large sum of people disagree, but the “ultimate truth” is that it would be better for gay rights to be protected.

      So is there a difference between personal preference toward morality and truth or is there an “ultimate one truth” – that we may be blind to due to our life experiences shaping our biased opinions.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

