binge drinking is for college kids – or at least it should be

“Legendary-ish Stories” is a series I plan to write occasionally in which I describe actual incidents that happened in my life. These incidents often involve alcohol and at times immorality – neither of which I necessarily condone. With these stories I hope to add a touch of humor and display human imperfection while simultaneously eroding my credibility. Enjoy.

I woke up this morning my head pounding and I’m pretty sure a little less intelligent. For the first time in months I enjoyed a night of binge drinking. I’m sitting here right now thinking to myself that I really have no desire to do this again over new years, although peer pressure will no doubt overcome my will to avoid a hangover though.

My biggest question isn’t why this hangover is so “sucky”, but rather how the hell I put up with this shit several days a week while I was in college. Even more amazing is that I somehow made it through and retained a decent amount of knowledge. Knowledge that was forced fed to me by my professors when I was no doubt more concerned with putting grease into my stomach to ease the symptoms of a hangover induced by bottom shelf liquor varieties and cheap beer.

Last night was fun, but I didn’t dance with a transvestite and I didn’t black-out so I guess there is no amazing story to tell – this time. I did however enjoy the rush of guzzling beer with a few college friends and reliving the glory days of old. I also gained a new found respect for my apparent hollow leg in college that could only be filled with gratuitous amounts of low grade alcohol.

Long story short being hung-over sucks, occasionally binge drinking with friends is fun, and getting freak nasty with your wife on the dance floor like its 1999 is what its all about.

One thought on “binge drinking is for college kids – or at least it should be

  1. Jim Zee

    I’ve been there — done that — exactly once in my college career to date, and while I’m not ruling out any more further misadventures of this type, I’m not looking forward to any more either.

    Good luck with that, mate.

    Jim Zee

    Reply

Leave a Reply

