fat kid billboards

So if you don’t live in Georgia you probably didn’t know that this existed, but it does.  I noticed the ad for the first time today right in Atlanta not too far from my house.  Some group of people thought it would be a great idea to put up giant billboards ridiculing fat children.  I suppose to shame them and their parents into being more healthy.  The billboards say things like “It’s hard being a little girl, when you’re not.”

I personally think the billboards are hilarious.  Hilarious in the kind of way that a comedian is.  That is one who has dove off the morality cliff, pushed over any sense of caring for others, but is so crude you can’t help but laugh.  It’s like a train wreck and you can’t help but look at the destruction.

The funniest/worst part about these billboards is that someone had to actually sit around and think these things up AND put in the foot work to put them up and pay for them.  Was there are large enough group of people that thought this was a good idea?  Also, I want to know who the hell agreed to let their child pose for these damn signs and do these videos!

On a side note, I just read that Georgia has the 2nd highest child obesity rate in the country.  We really do have a problem. Damn soul food and damn you Paula Dean.

Also, my wife, who is an art teacher for high school almost cried when she saw these videos.  She said she sees fat kids get picked on (her brother is also obese) and it really hurts her.  I guess I have to be careful not to let out a chuckle around her.  These adds are too rediculous to be taken seriously…

You can check out the website and laugh here.

2 thoughts on “fat kid billboards

  1. Colleen

    I just saw a tv news report on the billboards. I think they are horrid. A little girl saying it’s hard for her to be a ‘little girl’ because she isn’t little isn’t teaching her about healty eating. It’s teaching her that ‘little girls’ look a certain way and if you don’t look like that you can’t be a ‘little girl’ or maybe ‘daddy’s little girl’. I’m a black woman who practices a modest lifestyle. I can’t tell you how many people told me when I was a teenager that it was impossible for me to be a virgin because I didn’t ‘look like one’. These billboards are doing the same thing. Reinforcing ugly sterotypes about what ‘normal’ people should look like.

    Reply
    1. Atticus Finch

      I would agree that these billboards are bad overall. On the other hang for a state with like the 2nd overall childhood obesity rate we have to do something. What we consider “normal” isn’t really normal, but rather something our culture has determined is normal.

      Eating fried chicken, butter, traditional southern style cooking, fast food, and a general lack of good diet and exercise being accepted by children and their families has to stop. I do agree these billboards are distasteful though.

      I grew up a chubby kid and nobody thought a thing about it until in middle school I realized it myself. Sometimes families don’t even realize there is a problem and I think these ads are trying to “call to action.”

      Reply

Leave a Reply

