Sometimes

Sometimes I just sit awake at night thinking about what I want to do with myself.  I just stay awake for a while, not sleeping, just thinking about living a less than ordinary life.  Thinking about ambitions I may or may not be able to talk myself into pursuing. 

I’m pretty comfortable with my current life.  I’m pretty sure that most would say its a great place to be.  I work for a great company and I’m very early in my career.  On the other hand, I could see myself just dropping everything and moving away to some cool place I’ve always wanted to give a shot.  Or maybe do something else all together.  Go live in another country, drop everything and just help people, I don’t know.

I just don’t want to live this life “normal”.  I don’t want to wake up a few years down the line and wish with all of my heart that I had done something when I really had the chance.  I want my life to be amazing.  No regrets.  I want a meaningful existence.  I think everyone wants that – but I also think that few really have the courage to go after it.  Do I?  I’d like to think so.

Going after it may mean losing some security.  It may mean getting out of my comfort zone.  It will probably mean a lot of work, but I think even just as I write this, that I am strangely comfortable with the thought of being out of my comfort zone – kind of an oxymoron…

Our short little existence on this earth is so miniscule I think I really can’t even grasp it.  I just want to do so much.

This entry was posted in Life in General on by .

About Atticus C.

I was born in raised in Georgia, now approaching 30. I have traveled to 13 countries and have bachelors and masters degrees in business. I am fortunate enough to call my beautiful wife and daughter family. I've been writing here since 2011.

3 thoughts on “Sometimes

  1. Pingback: a few details about a blog no one reads «

  2. Jon

    I almost never leave links to my own posts in other peoples’ blogs (OK I did when I started blogging a while ago, but not anymore) … but in this case I’d like to, because I have a post on exactly this question — playing defense (protecting against losing what you have; minimizing losses) vs offense (going for it – maximizing gains). It’s called Promotion vs Prevention focus.

    http://brain-and-mind.blogspot.com/2011/09/why-cant-i-be-more-like-henry-miller.html

    Jon

    Reply

Leave a Reply

